11.22

mailbox

I remember when I spent an evening making this with my sister at a Michael’s workshop. I had been shopping, and saw it advertised. Plus, it was free. I had been looking for ideas to spend some quality time with my youngest sister. I see all of my siblings plenty, but at the time, my sister was in the middle of a CPS custody battle. She needed some time away.

We had to buy the actual plain mailbox, but the workshop provided all the glitter and stickers and fun stuff. Luckily, when we got there, there was only one mailbox left, just for her. There weren’t very many people, so we had free reign of the supplies. It only lasted an hour, but by the end, we both had awesome, sparkly Valentine holders.

The next year I had this sitting out for Valentine’s Day. On top of my television, not that it would ever see another human. But the boy I was seeing at the time snuck a love note in there. I didn’t notice it until as I was putting the mailbox away. Cute.

Leave a comment